Softbox Workshop

I recently attended a workshop taken by Rob Luckins.

Rob talked about using photography for print, showed examples of his work, and also gave a demo on how to use a flashgun and soft box for lighting. This workshop was very helpful as good practical advice was given in regards to photography lighting and manual camera settings. The small one light setup that Rob used would be particularly good for travelling photographers who want lighting on their shoots as it is fairly small and lightweight.

The lighting equipment Rob used included:

  • 1 flashgun mounted onto a stand
  • 1 softbox
  • 1 flash trigger (transmitter & receiver)

Though the equipment was minimal, some great results could still be achieved.

I attached Rob’s flash trigger to the Nikon D70 I had with me and took this portrait shot using the one light setup:

DSC_8231 (1)
F number: 11  |  Shutter speed: 1/125

This photo will be enhanced and included in my final 30.

Leave a comment